Use No Hooks - The Job (LP1)

Use No Hooks - The Job (LP1)

Chapter Music

  • $28.48
    Unit price per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.

LABEL: Chapter Music
LP CAT#: CH146LPC1 LP UPC: 747742112690
RELEASE DATE: 3/6/2020
WEIGHT: LP-0.53 lb


Chapter Music reveals a trove of previously unreleased recordings by early 80s Aussie disco-punk heroes Use No Hooks. The band feature Arne Hanna from Michael Hutchence's late 80s INXS side-project Max Q, as well as members of infamous Melbourne synth-punk band Primitive Calculators. Use No Hooks are best known for their 1983 Aussie punk-funk classic Do The Job, never released at the time and first heard on Chapter's Can't Stop It! #2 compilation in 2007. e track was later bootlegged on a 12" by UK DJs Psychemagik and has since become a leftfield club staple. The band existed in various incarnations from 1979-84. They took part in Melbourne's renowned Little Band scene, before morphing unexpectedly into a nine piece disco-funk big band in 1983. This final incarnation took nods from Chic, Talking Heads and the Sugarhill Gang, twisting them into an Australian punk-funk, proto-rap format uniquely their own. The band recorded five songs onto reel-to-reel four track with engineer Simon Grounds in 1983, including the legendary Do the Job, but the unmixed tape remained in a cupboard for more than 35 years. A chance conversation between Simon and Chapter's Guy Blackman lead to the songs finally being rescued from the aging reel. Mikey Young and Simon Grounds mixed the recordings, and UNH bandleader Mick Earls added choice live/rehearsal tracks from the band's earlier lineups as digital bonus material. The end result proves Do the Job was no accident. Lead vocalist (and Primitive Calculators frontman) Stuart Grant intones Mick Earl's dry, colloquial lyrics in playful dialogue with singers Denise Hilton (Primitive Calculators), Marisa Stirpe (The Take) and Wendy Morrissey, over frighteningly tight white funk grooves from Mick Earls (guitar), Phil Nichols (keys), Matt Errey (keys), Andre Schuster (bass) and Arne Hanna (drums).

We Also Recommend

Log in or Create an account